Reviews

Waterdrop Reverse Osmosis Review 2026: G3P600, G3P800, G5P500A, X16, M6H Compared

PureFlow Lab is reader-supported. We may earn a commission when you buy through links in this guide, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. See our Disclosure for details.

The Waterdrop models covered in this overview, organized by use case. PureFlow Lab does not test products; specs and certifications below come from each product’s Amazon listing.


The gist: Waterdrop is a tankless-first reverse osmosis brand: most of its under-sink systems have no storage tank and use a smart faucet. For most homes, the G3P600 is the pick: 600 GPD tankless, 2:1 pure-to-drain, NSF/ANSI 58 and 372 certified, with a faucet that shows TDS and filter life. Step up to the G3P800 for 800 GPD, a 3:1 ratio and a broader certification list (NSF/ANSI 58, 42, 53 and 372 by IAPMO R&T). If you want alkaline remineralization, the X16 (1,600 GPD peak, NSF/ANSI 42, 58 and 372) is the flagship, and the G5P500A is a 500 GPD alkaline option whose listing makes no certification claim. Renters should look at the M6H Instant Hot countertop for no-plumbing RO water plus hot water.

This page is a research-based overview of Waterdrop’s RO lineup, built from the product listings: what each model is documented to do, where the trade-offs are, and which model fits which situation.

About Waterdrop

Waterdrop sells water filtration systems, with a residential RO lineup built mostly around tankless under-sink designs plus countertop units. Its systems are widely sold on Amazon.

What the listings document across the lineup:

  • Tankless-first. The under-sink models here are all tankless: no storage tank under the sink, and water is filtered on demand. Tankless systems need an electrical outlet under the sink.
  • Named certifications on most models. The G3P800 is certified by IAPMO R&T to NSF/ANSI 58, 42, 53 and 372; the X16 to NSF/ANSI 42, 58 and 372; the G3P600 to NSF/ANSI 58 and 372 and “tested and certified against NSF 42.” The G5P500A and M6H listings make no certification claim, so check before assuming.
  • Efficient drain ratios. The listings give 2:1 (G3P600, G5P500A) or 3:1 (G3P800, X16, M6H) pure-to-drain ratios. Conventional tank systems usually send more water to the drain than they produce.
  • Smart faucets. The G3P600, G3P800 and X16 faucets display TDS, and the G3P600 and X16 also show filter life, per their listings.

What Waterdrop doesn’t offer here: tank-based systems for buyers who want them, systems that run without electricity, or any whole-house RO product. For those, look at iSpring, APEC, or Express Water.

The Waterdrop Lineup Explained (Decoding the Names)

Waterdrop’s names don’t follow one consistent pattern, but the number in most names is the GPD rating:

  • G-series (G2, G3P600, G3P800, G5P500A): tankless under-sink systems. The G2 is a 400 GPD, 7-stage model; the G3P600 and G3P800 are 600 and 800 GPD; the G5P500A is a 500 GPD alkaline model.
  • X-series (X8-WAN, X16): higher-end tankless systems with alkaline remineralization. The X8-WAN is 800 GPD with NSF/ANSI 42, 58 and 372 listed; the X16 is 1,600 GPD peak.
  • M-series (M6H): countertop systems. The M6H adds an instant hot water dispenser.

Most buyers will choose among the G3P600, G3P800, G5P500A, X16, or M6H depending on budget, whether they want alkaline, and whether they can install under the sink. The Waterdrop D6, which this page used to cover, is no longer available on Amazon.

Our Picks in Detail

Best Overall: Waterdrop G3P600 (600 GPD, 8-Stage)

Best Overall Waterdrop PickWaterdrop G3P600 (600 GPD, 8-Stage)

Waterdrop G3P600 (600 GPD, 8-Stage)

Tankless, 600 GPD, 8 stages, 2:1 pure-to-drain. Certified to NSF/ANSI 58 (TDS) and 372 (lead-free), and “tested and certified against NSF 42,” according to the listing. Smart faucet shows TDS and filter life. Needs an outlet under the sink.

Check Price on Amazon →

The Waterdrop G3P600 is the right Waterdrop pick for most homes. Waterdrop lists it as a tankless, 8-stage system rated at 600 GPD with a 2:1 pure-to-drain ratio. It is certified to NSF/ANSI 58 (TDS reduction) and 372 (lead-free materials), and “tested and certified against NSF 42” for chlorine, taste and odor. The smart faucet shows TDS and filter life.

A 600 GPD rating is more than a typical household uses, and tankless design means no storage tank taking up cabinet space. The unit itself measures 18.12" L x 5.67" W x 17.72" H, so measure your cabinet. It needs an electrical outlet under the sink.

Note what the listing does not claim: NSF/ANSI 53 certification or leak detection. If NSF/ANSI 53 matters to you, the G3P800 lists it. For leak protection on any system, add a separate leak-stop valve.

Pros: NSF/ANSI 58 and 372 certified, tankless, 600 GPD, 2:1 pure-to-drain, faucet shows TDS and filter life. Cons: Needs an under-sink outlet, no NSF/ANSI 53 claim, no leak detection mentioned, no alkaline stage.

Check Price on Amazon →

Best Premium Mainstream: Waterdrop G3P800

Best Premium WaterdropWaterdrop G3P800 (800 GPD, 10-Stage)

Waterdrop G3P800 (800 GPD, 10-Stage)

Tankless, 800 GPD, 10 stages, 3:1 pure-to-drain. Waterdrop lists IAPMO R&T certification to NSF/ANSI 58, 42, 53 and 372. Smart faucet shows TDS. Installation needs two holes drilled (faucet and drain).

Check Price on Amazon →

The Waterdrop G3P800 steps up from the G3P600 in three documented ways: 800 GPD instead of 600, 10 stages instead of 8, and a 3:1 pure-to-drain ratio instead of 2:1. It also has the broadest certification list in the lineup: certified by IAPMO R&T to NSF/ANSI 58 (TDS), 42 and 53, and 372, according to the listing. The smart faucet shows TDS.

The trade-off is installation: Waterdrop says it needs two holes drilled, one for the faucet and one for the drain. The listing doesn’t mention leak detection. The step up is worth it if you value the NSF/ANSI 53 certification and the better drain ratio; the capacity difference is unlikely to matter for most households.

Pros: NSF/ANSI 58, 42, 53 and 372 by IAPMO R&T, 3:1 pure-to-drain, 800 GPD, 10 stages, faucet shows TDS. Cons: Two holes to drill, needs an under-sink outlet, more capacity than most homes need, no leak detection mentioned.

Check Price on Amazon →

Alkaline Tankless Option: Waterdrop G5P500A

Alkaline Tankless OptionWaterdrop G5P500A (500 GPD, Alkaline, 8-Stage)

Waterdrop G5P500A (500 GPD, Alkaline, 8-Stage)

Tankless, 500 GPD, 8 stages with alkaline remineralization, 2:1 pure-to-drain. The faucet install needs drilling. The listing makes no certification claim.

Check Price on Amazon →

The Waterdrop G5P500A is a tankless system with alkaline remineralization built in: 500 GPD, 8 stages, 2:1 pure-to-drain, the listing says. Remineralization adds some minerals back after the RO membrane, for people who find plain RO water flat. The faucet install needs drilling.

The key caveat: the listing makes no certification claim. If you want alkaline tankless with named certifications, the Waterdrop X8-WAN (800 GPD, NSF/ANSI 42, 58 and 372, 24-month RO filter life) or the X16 below are the options that document them.

Pros: Alkaline remineralization built in, tankless, 500 GPD, 2:1 pure-to-drain. Cons: No certification claim on the listing, needs drilling and an outlet.

Check Price on Amazon →

Best Flagship: Waterdrop X16 (1,600 GPD, Alkaline)

Best Flagship WaterdropWaterdrop X16 (1,600 GPD, Alkaline, 11-Stage)

Waterdrop X16 (1,600 GPD, Alkaline, 11-Stage)

1,600 GPD peak, 11 stages with alkaline remineralization, 3:1 pure-to-drain. The listing says it’s certified by IAPMO R&T to NSF/ANSI 42, 58 and 372. Digital faucet with volume control, TDS and filter-life display.

Check Price on Amazon →

The Waterdrop X16 is Waterdrop’s flagship under-sink system. The listing gives 1,600 GPD peak, 11 stages including alkaline remineralization, a 3:1 pure-to-drain ratio, and certification by IAPMO R&T to NSF/ANSI 42, 58 and 372. Its digital faucet has volume control and shows TDS and filter life.

It targets buyers who want alkaline water, high flow and a named certification list in one unit. For most households, 1,600 GPD is far more capacity than needed; if alkaline is the main draw, compare the X8-WAN, or add an inline remineralization filter to another system.

Pros: 1,600 GPD peak, alkaline built in, 11 stages, NSF/ANSI 42, 58 and 372 by IAPMO R&T, faucet with volume control, TDS and filter-life display. Cons: More capacity than most homes need, needs an under-sink outlet, listing doesn’t claim NSF/ANSI 53 (the G3P800 does).

Check Price on Amazon →

Best Countertop: Waterdrop M6H Instant Hot

Best Countertop Waterdrop (No Plumbing)Waterdrop M6H Instant Hot Countertop RO with Hot Water (bundle with replacement filter)

Waterdrop M6H Instant Hot Countertop RO with Hot Water (bundle with replacement filter)

Countertop RO with instant hot water from room temperature up to 203°F (5 presets), 7 stages, 3:1 pure-to-drain, and a 40 oz glass pitcher, Waterdrop says. No plumbing. The listing makes no certification claim (it says “tested by a third-party laboratory”).

Check Price on Amazon →

The Waterdrop M6H Instant Hot is the pick for renters or anyone who can’t install an under-sink system. It sits on the counter and you fill it from the tap. According to the listing, it has 7 stages, a 3:1 pure-to-drain ratio, instant hot water from room temperature up to 203°F with 5 presets, a 185 oz tank (135 oz for tap water, 50 oz for waste), and a 40 oz glass pitcher.

The instant hot water is the standout: most countertop RO units dispense only room-temperature water. The trade-offs: the listing makes no certification claim (it says “tested by a third-party laboratory”), you refill the tank by hand and empty the waste side, and it takes counter space. If named certifications matter, compare the AquaTru Classic.

Pros: No plumbing, instant hot water with 5 presets, 3:1 pure-to-drain, glass pitcher included. Cons: No certification claim on the listing, manual refilling, counter space, lower output than under-sink systems.

Check Price on Amazon →

What Sets Waterdrop Apart

Three things distinguish Waterdrop on paper:

1. Tankless-first lineup. While iSpring, APEC and Express Water mainly sell tank-based systems, Waterdrop’s under-sink lineup here is all tankless: no storage tank, water on demand, and listed drain ratios of 2:1 or 3:1.

2. Certification breadth on key models. The G3P800 lists NSF/ANSI 58, 42, 53 and 372, certified by IAPMO R&T. Many RO systems list only NSF/ANSI 58, or none. Note that it varies by model: the G3P600 doesn’t claim 53, and the G5P500A and M6H claim none.

3. Smart faucets. The G3P600, G3P800 and X16 faucets show TDS, so you can see whether the membrane is still performing; the G3P600 and X16 also show filter life.

What Waterdrop Could Do Better

Three weaknesses to weigh:

1. The naming is confusing. G2, G3P600, G3P800, G5P500A, X8-WAN, X16, M6H: the letters don’t follow one pattern, and models get replaced (the D6 is no longer available on Amazon). Check the exact listing before buying.

2. Everything needs electricity, and certification varies. Tankless systems need an outlet under the sink. And certifications differ by model; don’t assume the whole lineup carries the G3P800’s list.

3. No whole-house RO product. Waterdrop’s lineup is point-of-use (under-sink or countertop). For whole-house or high-capacity applications, look at iSpring’s commercial systems (RCB3P, RCS5T, CRO1000) or a whole-house RO specialist. See our best whole house RO systems guide.

Waterdrop vs Competitors

vs APEC ROES-50: The APEC ROES-50 is a 5-stage, 50 GPD tank-based system that needs no electricity; its listing makes no NSF claim. Waterdrop is the choice if you want tankless, a smart faucet and named certifications; APEC if you want a simple system with no outlet needed. Compare current prices.

vs iSpring RCC7AK: The iSpring RCC7AK is a 6-stage, 75 GPD tank system with an alkaline stage and whole-system NSF/ANSI 58 certification, per iSpring. Among Waterdrop models, alkaline comes on the G5P500A, X8-WAN and X16. iSpring for a tank system with alkaline and no electricity; Waterdrop for tankless and capacity.

vs Express Water 5-stage: The Express Water 5-stage is a 50 GPD tank system with an extra filter set and a leak detector included, according to its listing. The title says “NSF Certified” without naming a standard. Express Water for a basic tank system; Waterdrop for tankless and named certifications.

vs AquaTru: AquaTru is the closest countertop competitor to the M6H. The AquaTru Classic is tested and certified by IAPMO to NSF/ANSI 42, 53, 58, 401 and P473 (per AquaTru), but has no hot water; the M6H adds instant hot water but makes no certification claim.

For a deeper comparison, see our best reverse osmosis systems guide.

Comparison Table

Model Type GPD Stages Pure-to-drain NSF/ANSI (per listing) Smart Features
G3P600 Tankless 600 8 2:1 58, 372; tested and certified against 42 Faucet: TDS, filter life
G3P800 Tankless 800 10 3:1 58, 42, 53, 372 (IAPMO R&T) Faucet: TDS
G5P500A Tankless, alkaline 500 8 2:1 None stated None listed
X16 Tankless, alkaline 1,600 (peak) 11 3:1 42, 58, 372 (IAPMO R&T) Faucet: volume control, TDS, filter life
M6H Countertop n/a 7 3:1 None stated Instant hot, 5 presets

Which Waterdrop to Buy

Your Situation Right Waterdrop Pick Why
First Waterdrop, want a balanced pick G3P600 600 GPD tankless, NSF/ANSI 58 and 372, TDS faucet
Want the broadest certification list G3P800 NSF/ANSI 58, 42, 53, 372 and a 3:1 drain ratio
Want alkaline tankless G5P500A or X8-WAN G5P500A: no cert claim; X8-WAN: NSF/ANSI 42, 58, 372
Want maximum capacity with alkaline X16 1,600 GPD peak, alkaline, NSF/ANSI 42, 58, 372
Rent, apartment, or want countertop with hot water M6H Instant Hot No plumbing, hot water up to 203°F
Want alkaline on a G3P600 G3P600 + an inline remineralization filter such as the Waterdrop MNR35 MNR35 lists 1/4" and 3/8" quick-connects; confirm fit before buying
You want RO at every tap in the house Look elsewhere. Waterdrop doesn’t make whole-house RO See our best whole house RO guide
Want a tank system with no electricity Look at the iSpring RCC7AK or Express Water 5-stage Tank-based systems don’t need an outlet

Filter Schedule and Footprint, Model by Model

Waterdrop publishes its cartridge schedules by series, and the lineup names tell you which series you are buying. From Waterdrop's replacement-filter pages and the listings:

ModelStage 1 (CF / F2)RO membraneStage 3 (CB / F1)AlkalineListed footprintCertifications claimed
G3P600CF: 6 months or 550 galRO: 24 months or 2,200 galCB: 12 months or 1,100 galNo (add an inline MNR35)18.12 x 5.67 x 17.72 inNSF/ANSI 58, 372; tested against 42
G3P800CF: 6 months (G3 series)RO: 24 months (G3 series)CB: 12 months (G3 series)NoNot stated in the listingNSF/ANSI 42, 53, 58, 372 (IAPMO R&T)
G5P500ACF: 6 months (G5 series)RO: 24 months (G5 series)CombinedYes, built inFaucet 6.6 x 3.2 x 11.3 in; unit size not statedNSF/ANSI 58, 372 (per listing)
X16F2: 6 months (X series)F3: 24 months (X series)F1A: 12 months (X series)Yes, built inNot stated in the listingNSF/ANSI 42, 58, 372 (IAPMO R&T)
M6H Instant Hot (countertop)Not stated in the listing (M6RF set)Not statedNot statedNo185 oz tank: 135 oz feed, 50 oz wasteNSF/ANSI 58, 372

Two practical readings of that table. First, a G3 or X system costs the same to run per year whichever capacity you buy; the 800 GPD premium is speed, not upkeep. Second, Waterdrop sells one-year and two-year combo sets for each series, which is the cheaper way to buy the CF and CB stages that go together. Intervals are the makers' own schedules (listing or maker site, checked October 21, 2026); hard water, sediment and heavy use shorten them. "Not stated" means the listing gives no figure, so budget on the most conservative interval in the column.

FAQ

Are Waterdrop RO systems any good?

Waterdrop’s under-sink lineup is tankless, with efficient 2:1 or 3:1 drain ratios and smart faucets, and several models list named certifications (the G3P800: NSF/ANSI 58, 42, 53 and 372 by IAPMO R&T). The trade-offs: all of them need electricity, the naming is confusing, and certification varies by model (the G5P500A and M6H listings claim none). PureFlow Lab does not test products; check the listing for the exact model.

What’s the difference between the Waterdrop G3P600 and G3P800?

From the listings: the G3P600 is 600 GPD, 8 stages, 2:1, NSF/ANSI 58 and 372 (plus tested and certified against NSF 42), with a faucet showing TDS and filter life. The G3P800 is 800 GPD, 10 stages, 3:1, certified by IAPMO R&T to NSF/ANSI 58, 42, 53 and 372, with a TDS faucet, and it needs two holes drilled (faucet and drain).

Is the Waterdrop X16 worth the price?

For most households, 1,600 GPD is far more capacity than needed. It makes sense if you want alkaline remineralization, high flow, and a named certification list (NSF/ANSI 42, 58 and 372) in one unit. If alkaline is the main draw, compare the X8-WAN (800 GPD, same three standards listed) or add an inline remineralization filter to another system. Check current prices.

Does the Waterdrop G3P800 have leak detection?

The G3P800 listing doesn’t mention leak detection, and neither does the G3P600’s. If you want leak protection, add a separate leak-stop valve under the sink; mechanical versions shut off the supply when their sensor pads get wet.

How easy is Waterdrop installation?

Under-sink tankless RO is a common DIY project, but you’ll need an electrical outlet under the sink, a cold-water connection, a drain connection, and a faucet hole. The G3P800 listing says two holes are needed (faucet and drain). Stainless sinks can be drilled with the right bit; granite or quartz needs a diamond hole saw used wet at low speed, or a plumber for that step. Measure your cabinet too (Waterdrop lists the G3P600 at 18.12" x 5.67" x 17.72").

How long do Waterdrop filters last?

It varies by model and water quality. The G3P600 and X16 faucets display filter life, and the X8-WAN listing gives a 24-month RO filter life. Follow Waterdrop’s schedule for your model and check the current price of replacement filters before you buy the system.

Does Waterdrop make a whole house RO system?

No. Waterdrop’s lineup is point-of-use (under-sink or countertop). For high-capacity RO, the iSpring CRO1000 is a 1,000 GPD commercial tankless system, per its listing (it needs 80 to 130 psi, with an optional booster pump below 80 psi). For pre-engineered whole-house RO packages from water-treatment specialists, see the US Water Systems Defender or Crystal Quest whole-house RO systems. See our best whole house RO guide for the full alternatives.

Where are Waterdrop systems made?

The listings covered here don’t state where the systems are made. If country of origin matters to you, check the listing’s product details or ask Waterdrop before buying.

Bottom Line: Which Waterdrop Should You Buy?

For most homeowners: the Waterdrop G3P600. 600 GPD tankless, 2:1, listed NSF/ANSI 58 and 372, with a faucet that shows TDS and filter life.

If you want the broadest certification list and a better drain ratio: step up to the G3P800 (NSF/ANSI 58, 42, 53 and 372 by IAPMO R&T; 3:1).

If you want alkaline tankless: the G5P500A (500 GPD, no certification claim) or, for named certifications, the X8-WAN.

For maximum capacity with alkaline: the flagship Waterdrop X16 (1,600 GPD peak, 11 stages, NSF/ANSI 42, 58 and 372). More than most homes need.

For renters or anyone wanting countertop: the Waterdrop M6H Instant Hot. No plumbing, RO water plus instant hot water, but no certification claim on the listing.

If you want RO water at every tap in the house: Waterdrop doesn’t make a whole-house RO product. See our best whole house RO systems guide for the alternatives.

Ready to buy?

Check current pricing on whichever Waterdrop fits your situation. Your clicks keep these guides free.

Shop All Waterdrop RO Systems on Amazon →

If this helped, share it with someone shopping the Waterdrop lineup.

Keep Reading

Keep Reading